Knowledgebase
How do I delete transactions if I want to start over.
Posted by Henry Gage on 30 March 2011 03:50 AM
Regarding: How do I delete transactions if I want to start over.

Question:
I accidentally downloaded data from 2 accounts to one on TP. So I want to delete all the downloaded data (Tax Year 2010) and re-download to the separate accounts. There are hundreds of entries. It doesn't seem to allow me to delete en mass. Solution?

Answer:
There are two solutions. TA maintains a accounts table, symbol table, transactions table, corporate actions table, groups table and other details used when managing reporting. Depending on your goal you may want to used one or the other approachs below. For example if there is an issue with just a few trades then the second approach is helpful, else the first approach will create a fresh start.

1. Fresh Start - reset all of the tables.
a) If you want to save your data first then use File/Save As
b) To create an empty db use File/New (build new db)

2. To delete some trades use these steps
a) Screen: Transactions, Display View: Transactions - All
b) Click on the first transaction you want deleted
c) Scroll to the last
d) Hold Shift and click on the last
e) Select Delete

To delete just a few...

You can hold Control and then click on the trades you want to delete

You can also create a temporary account and use the Edit/Transactions - Move to move trades into the temporary account, then delete the account.

(180 vote(s))
This article was helpful
This article was not helpful

Comments (0)
Post a new comment
 
 
Full Name:
Email:
Comments:
Help Desk Software by Kayako ta.helpserve.com